Fitting the Pieces Together

Now that you have a deeper understanding of the different learning theories and learning styles, how has your view on how you learn changed?

I am familiar with different types of learning concepts. I am more familiar with military style of adult learning. The different learning theories that I have learned over the last few weeks I knew of some of the practices but didn’t know the correct name of the theory. But I learned that people learn in different ways and interpret knowledge in different ways.

What have you learned about the various learning theories and learning styles over the past weeks that can further explain your own personal learning preferences?

I realized that I have qualities that relate to all of the learning theories that we have went over. The most important thing that I have learned is, if I do not have an interest in the subject I am going over it will not matter how the information is given. I will not be able to retain and use the information. I believe that the Cognitive Theory applies to the way that I learn. I have to visualize in my head before I can retain information. When I have new information I have to relate it to information I already know and understand. I will have to read over new information several times to retain the information I am reading. My comprehensive ability for reading is not an easy task.

What role does technology play in your learning (i.e., as a way to search for information, to record information, to create, etc.)?

I constantly use computer, tablet or some type of electronic device. I have to find a somewhat quiet area to do my research and listen to music or some type of background noise. I am always in contact with my school work through electronic devices whether traveling or working. But learning has come a long way from encyclopedias and dictionaries. Sitting countless hours thumbing through magazines, books and microfiche.

Leave a comment